You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

Complaint against George Hook rejected after he called texter a 's**t'

Hook also jokingly said he would box the texter in the face.

A COMPLAINT MADE against George Hook after he called a texter a “shit” and threatened to assault that person with a box to the face has been rejected by the Broadcasting Authority of Ireland (BAI).

During a broadcast of his High Noon show in May of this year, Hook read out a message accusing him of only reading favourable texts on the programme. The presenter immediately called the texter a “shit” and then proceeded to invite the person in to “say it to my face” where he threatened to assault them with a box to the face.

According to the BAI, the complainant believed this behaviour by a presenter to be wholly inappropriate.

However, replying to the complaint, Newstalk said Hook was deeply upset by the inaccurate comment made by the listener and reacted in a “passionate manner in the heat of the moment”.

Hook conceded afterwards that he would have preferred to have reacted in more temperate tones and certainly did not intend to cause any offence.

Newstalk argued that Hook’s personality is central to the tone of the programme and the audience would be familiar with his “larger than life, gregarious and outspoken persona”.

The broadcaster argued: “On the day in question the presenter had opened the show reflecting on the terrorist attack at the Ariana Grande concert in Manchester which had occurred the night before. He spoke about the tragedy of the loss of youth and the impact such an attack would have on his own grandson as a fan of Grande.

“During the course of the programme the presenter received a tweet from a listener which read ‘Attention seeking radio presenter @ghook has resorted to making up fake texts complimenting himself on Newstalk.’ Given the circumstances in which this comment was made and the inaccuracy of the accusation that he would first of all read out fake texts and secondly make-up fake texts complimentary to himself, the presenter was understandably upset. He responded to the tweet in his typically blustering manner, an approach with which regular listeners to his opinion-led programme would be familiar.”

The BAI rejected the complaint and said that Hook had the right to defend himself.

Read: Limerick hurler awarded €31k after his garda car was rammed whilst on duty >

Read: Gardaí arrest four people in Cork after estimated €100k drug seizure >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

68 Comments
    Mute Seán Dillon
    Favourite Seán Dillon
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:28 PM

Snowflake generation.

Mute John Considine
    Favourite John Considine
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:36 PM

@Seán Dillon: I’m no fan of Hook, he’s a loudmouth know-it-all. I’d have absolutely no problem whatsoever telling him that to his face either, if I were unfortunate enough to have to opportunity. I’d expect to get some back in response though. If you can’t take it, don’t give it.

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:47 PM

@John Considine: as he’d say you’re entitled to your opinion. That’s what I personally like about hooks shows, you don’t have to agree with him all the time or even ever.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Nov 28th 2017, 4:46 PM

@neilo: It’s a derogatery term for people who stand up for themselves.

Mute Daniel Rea
    Favourite Daniel Rea
    Nov 28th 2017, 7:13 PM

@Sean Conway: It’s a derogatory term for people who can’t stand up for their arguments

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Nov 28th 2017, 8:10 PM

@Daniel Rea: Isn’t that why people are afraid to speak out. because your boss wont give you another contract. and who’s going to pay the mortgage. sad but true.

Mute Charles Coughlan
    Favourite Charles Coughlan
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:38 PM

The sooner George Hook is brought back the better, we need someone like him who is not afraid to speak his mind on air and not be afraid of the politically correct (loonies) contingent out there.

Mute Larry Whelan
    Favourite Larry Whelan
    Nov 28th 2017, 4:03 PM

@Charles Coughlan:
    Absolutely …george to me is brill.straight from the hip like mick o leary of ryanair..
    Pity our politicians dont take a leaf from his book

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Nov 28th 2017, 4:49 PM

@Larry Whelan: yes he can be good but I think we all needed a break from him for a while. His whinging voice was starting to sound like an air raid siren as he built himself up into apoplexy over the latest perceived outrage.

Mute Frank Dubogovik
    Favourite Frank Dubogovik
    Nov 28th 2017, 6:15 PM

@Charles Coughlan: amen to THAT!!!!
    I don’t like the guy…I thought he was brutal as a rugby pundit…but I salute anyone who says it like it is in today’s society.

Mute Sean Conway
    Favourite Sean Conway
    Nov 28th 2017, 6:38 PM

@Larry Whelan: They can afford to talk in that manner when they are backed by billionaires.

Mute Margo Kiernan
    Favourite Margo Kiernan
    Nov 28th 2017, 6:41 PM

@Sean: love George, he tells it like it is, there is an on/off button on all devices – which everyone has the freedom to use should they be utterly shocked at programme content. Bring back George hook.

Mute Michael cunnane
    Favourite Michael cunnane
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:36 PM

good on you George.

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:44 PM

Delighted and the sooner george hook is back on the air the better….. the more listeners for newstalk, yates and hook were the only two worth while (kennys not bad either in fairness!)

Mute Virtual Architect
    Favourite Virtual Architect
    Nov 28th 2017, 3:02 PM

I don’t listen to the radio since there’s this internet thing. But while we’re on the subject I seem to recall a certain Cork radio personality who whipped his lad out on an airplane and started pleasuring himself. After a six month hiatus he was back on the radio. Hook isn’t even in the same universe. What’s wrong with people? Get over it. Snowflakes indeed.

Mute Let free speech live
    Favourite Let free speech live
    Nov 28th 2017, 4:14 PM

@Virtual Architect: Long time ago that was, he assaulted no 1 so why bring it up? He wasn’t doing it on air and besides who hasn’t knocked one out while on a long flight.

Mute Drew P. Baulsach
    Favourite Drew P. Baulsach
    Nov 28th 2017, 4:26 PM

@neilo: so switch the dial and keep it moving. Problem – don’t like hook.

Reaction – b!tch about it online.

Solution – don’t listen to him.

Quite simple really.

Mute Dave O Keeffe
    Favourite Dave O Keeffe
    Nov 28th 2017, 10:28 PM

@Let free speech live: is it not the same thing Louis CK did? Also, wasn’t a long haul flight. London to Cork as far as I remember.

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:27 PM

- Newstalk argued that Hook’s personality is central to the tone of the programme and the audience would be familiar with his “larger than life, gregarious and outspoken persona”

Sounds like whoever wrote this also penned Al Porter’s ‘apology’

Mute lavbeer
    Favourite lavbeer
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:42 PM

@Guy Incognito: hook’s regular listeners probably aren’t the easily offended types so this description is okay.

The complainant in this case is a sh@& with nothing better to be doing with him or herself

Mute Luka Savić
    Favourite Luka Savić

@Guy Incognito: do you know for fact the same person wrote both or are you just slandering for the craic?

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:45 PM

@Luka Savić: Sorry for triggering you Luka

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:46 PM

@Luka Savić: Do you know for a fact what “slandering” means or are you just throwing it around to look clever?

Mute Luka Savić
    Favourite Luka Savić
    Nov 28th 2017, 3:07 PM

@Neal Ireland Hello.: I’m satirising Guy Incognito.

Mute Irish Bob
    Favourite Irish Bob
    Nov 28th 2017, 3:09 PM

@Guy Incognito: “Sounds like whoever wrote this also penned Al Porter’s ‘apology’”

What utter b0ll*cks .. Hook was hounded pout during a witch hunt, which was covered by all media .. Whereas almost silence on Al Porter .. Haven’t heard mrs pc himself Matt Cooper say much on Porter, compared to shows devoted to anti Hook rhetoric.
    The pure hypocrisy of the social commentators, media and PC brigade as Hook made some comments about a sexual assault of a man on a woman, and was punished for it as it suited the social commentators, media and PC brigade narrative .. Al Porter is gay, so f all really in the media about his as it does not fit the social commentators, media and PC brigades..
    And before you go even more, I cannot stand Hook and usually disagrees with his views and have sent some choice texts to him in the past. He may and possibly should have lost of job before for other comments, but no it was this one because its suits the narrative.

Mute Harry Roberts
    Favourite Harry Roberts
    Nov 28th 2017, 3:25 PM

@Irish Bob: Cooper has his head so far up his own backside he makes Chris Donohoe sound good.
    At least Newstalk have seen the light. Now let’s get the rest. They’re like a very nasty virus.

Mute Deano Cracow
    Favourite Deano Cracow
    Nov 28th 2017, 4:07 PM

@Harry Roberts: Agreed. Cooper is now the most aggressivly PC presenter on air. It has ruined his show as he used to be a little more questioning. Read somewhere that he is looking for a new job so is proving his liberal/leftie credentials. Must be looking to compete with Fintan or Una in the IT.

Mute Who's Yer Man
    Favourite Who's Yer Man
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:37 PM

@Guy Incognito: It was a joke. Calm down.

Mute John Quill
    Favourite John Quill
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:57 PM

What George says on air pales into insignificance compared to what some other celebrities have been getting up to.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Nov 28th 2017, 3:30 PM

@John Quill:

What George say on air is similar to what the majority of the adult population say

Mute John ward
    Favourite John ward
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:39 PM

Just change the channel if you don’t like what you hear.
    Sitting at home waiting for something to lodge a complaint about.
    I’d like to punch them in the face.

Mute Neal Ireland Hello.
    Favourite Neal Ireland Hello.
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:49 PM

@John ward: The only problem with that, is that there are limited spaces available on the public airwaves, and, like in other countries, they are slowly being amalgamated into one or two big owners.

Mute brian mclaughlin
    Favourite brian mclaughlin
    Nov 28th 2017, 6:36 PM

@John ward:You too seem like one any parent would be proud of. Why change channel Because a bully says you should

Mute Luka Savić
    Favourite Luka Savić
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:50 PM

@Guy Incognito: sounds like someone loves the Dil.

Mute John O'donnell
    Favourite John O'donnell
    Nov 28th 2017, 3:58 PM

Good man George..

Mute anthony campion
    Favourite anthony campion
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:45 PM

@Luka Savić: Dil who?

Mute Bob McTanned
    Favourite Bob McTanned
    Nov 28th 2017, 5:16 PM

Nice one, George, the only broadcaster worth listening to.

Mute Luka Savić
    Favourite Luka Savić
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:41 PM

@Guy Incognito: slander? It’s a joke don’t get your knickers in a twist Dil.

Mute martobaby
    Favourite martobaby
    Nov 28th 2017, 4:17 PM

God .. I miss you George .. That One at lunchtime is brutal !

Mute Darren Bates
    Favourite Darren Bates
    Nov 28th 2017, 3:50 PM

I’d be fairly liberal, but I have to say, I love listening to Yates and enjoyed Hook when he was on air. Much better than listening to the crap 10 song playlists the other stations are churning out these days.

Mute Mitch Peterson
    Favourite Mitch Peterson
    Nov 28th 2017, 3:59 PM

@Darren Bates: Could not agree more. And I’m definitely one of those libtard snowflakes- there are just too many signs for me to ignore it. Still, I did enjoy listening to George. He is very much a grandad figure, sure he’d say the wrong thing sometimes, but it was out of innocent ignorance, never malice. Hope he returns. Yates is good too!

Mute Mitch Peterson
    Favourite Mitch Peterson
    Nov 28th 2017, 4:01 PM

@Number 14: Oh there you are! I have a bone to pick with you… I have only one account here mister! So there.

Mute Mitch Peterson
    Favourite Mitch Peterson
    Nov 28th 2017, 5:10 PM

@Number 14: I feel a friendship blossoming!

Mute Joe Conlon
    Favourite Joe Conlon
    Nov 28th 2017, 3:02 PM

@anthony campion: “Thats showbizz baby!” – Eamon Dunphy

Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew

‘Newstalk argued that Hook’s personality is central to the tone of the programme and the audience would be familiar with his “larger than life, gregarious and outspoken persona”’
    So , then its ok for him to call people ‘shits’? Don’t see the logic there. Plenty of other broadcasters are like this but don’t refer to their listeners as ‘shits’. Glad to see the back of him and everything he represents (in a word, mediocrity)

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:50 PM

@andrew: It’s okay to call people shits when they’re acting like shits…

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Nov 28th 2017, 4:25 PM

@andrew: in a word yes, IF they act as such.

Mute Daffy the Bear
    Favourite Daffy the Bear
    Nov 28th 2017, 3:00 PM

@Guy Incognito: what about his jokes though? Do you think they’re funny?

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:31 PM

@Luka Savić: Got anything to back that up or are you just slandering for the craic?

Mute mr non snowflake
    Favourite mr non snowflake
    Nov 28th 2017, 7:41 PM

We need more George hooks and the radio.
    I’m sick of pc cheer leaders like mat Cooper. …

Mute Stevo02 Scofield
    Favourite Stevo02 Scofield
    Nov 28th 2017, 6:46 PM

If only he was al porter the comments would be closed

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:23 PM

There is one or two big sh*ta at Newstalk all right…..

Mute Fiona deFreyne
    Favourite Fiona deFreyne
    Nov 28th 2017, 3:25 PM

Hookie boy always was a guttersnipe. Expecting anything better is silly.

What amuses me is that Hookie boy is as derogatory if not more derogatory of his admirers as he is off his detractors.

There is a living fossil quality to Hookie boy. It’s like he is a living remnant of thre 1950s. I can see why he has such a nostalgic appeal to the old reactionaries.

Expecting any better of Hookie boy is just silly.

Mute Harry Roberts
    Favourite Harry Roberts
    Nov 28th 2017, 3:31 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: you can keep saying Hookie Boy all you like like a stuck record but it doesn’t change the fact that Newstalk had to reinstate him and get rid of the PC zombies. Because people like his straight talking and can’t stand Donohoe or any of his clones.
    Clearly changing the dial works.

Mute Nick Allen
    Favourite Nick Allen
    Nov 28th 2017, 3:38 PM

@Fiona deFreyne:

He called them a shit. Have you ever heard an adult call someone a shit in their life? Have you managed to get through life without calling someone a bad name. Earlier this afternoon you were saying all of our politicians were moral pygmies. Was that meant as a complement?

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Nov 28th 2017, 4:28 PM

@Fiona deFreyne: ever think of changing the dial so you personally don’t have to listen to hook? You have a choice, so get give it a rest.

Mute brian mclaughlin
    Favourite brian mclaughlin
    Nov 28th 2017, 5:43 PM

Sorry Hook was not on during the Circus that went on for the last week Our elected playing a game with the people they left in dire streets They all should be ashamed of themselves But that is only .for those with scruples This is not hindsight I posted the outcome 5 days ago and said that they would not retract t heir insults to Wallace and Daly who were right for years

Mute mr non snowflake
    Favourite mr non snowflake
    Nov 28th 2017, 7:38 PM

Snowflake pc brigade….go and f….off.

Mute John O'Hara
    Favourite John O'Hara
    Nov 28th 2017, 3:59 PM

This is disgraceful. It is protectionism of the media by their own. Irrespective of what the tweeter stated, there is a greater onus on the presenter to respond in an acceptable fashion. In this Hooke failed miserably and that should have been reflected by the BAI’s decision. What is the point of having regulators if they do not regulate properly and fairly? This type of regulation has already been seen in the banks etc.. Self regulation (or near enough) is akin to self protectionism. You can’t make exceptions just because you like someone. That is inequity at its best/worst. Hooke has run his show like his own personal soapbox, without giving those that he castigated a fair right of reply. Given that his bias was usually broadcast without any representative of those that he was doing down, present, then a fair right of reply was next to impossible. Even if he gave those an opportunity at another time to reject his bias, it is not equivalent to being able to respond at the initial broadcast. Statements even if biased carry greater weight when they go unchallenged, not to mention that the same audience will not be there on a different day.

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    Nov 28th 2017, 10:31 PM

I get why some people like listening to him as he is not “vanilla” like a lot of other presenters but I for one can’t stand his shows. He invites guests on who are quite often experts in their fields and then spends the whole interview interrupting them so he can lecture everyone on why he is right or trying to distil a complex statement down to two words that are not even relevant to the topic. Same old stories about his life rehashed a thousand times. I respect him for not being afraid to give an opinion but jesus he can bang on with the best of them. I for one will gladly take Ivan Yeats over him when stuck in the car on the way home!

Mute John O'Hara
    Favourite John O'Hara
    Nov 28th 2017, 4:23 PM

@number14: Faceless and nameless, you’re a brave mouthpiece.

Mute Guy Incognito
    Favourite Guy Incognito
    Nov 28th 2017, 2:44 PM

@Luka Savić: Yeah well, I’m sick of your unfunny bollocks.

Mute George Oscar Bluth
    Favourite George Oscar Bluth
    Nov 28th 2017, 3:42 PM

@anthony campion: Do

Mute nick mullen
    Favourite nick mullen
    Nov 29th 2017, 12:01 AM

Silly old man enjoy your comfortable retirement in Foxrock. L

Mute gerry fallon
    Favourite gerry fallon
    Nov 29th 2017, 8:56 AM

I really think Hook is enjoying the notoriety and controversy.I wish he would just retire and go away.he IS a gruff arrogant old man and has done his time.
    Get lost george please and leave us all alone.
    You are like a cranky old neighbour.

Mute Liam Dempsey
    Favourite Liam Dempsey
    Feb 6th 2018, 11:39 PM

Come on George Hook get back on air and make more of these morons run home to mammy.